“You and I were born for each other”

I’m excited.

I have partners. Actually, more than partners, I have brothers and sisters. By blood.

When Kebby and I first met, he told me something that I’m slowly realizing I will never forget:
“You and I were born for each other”

I didn’t really think too much of it (in 2008), since I was traveling through Zambia on a very tight schedule and with a very specific objective: find a research site that will be suitable for a 4-year PhD project on water improvement. In one month.

I didn’t think much of it then, but am realizing now not only that he really meant it, but I’m slowly realizing that it is true.

Kebby was born a Losi (the tribe that inhabits the south-west of Zambia), but speaks Tonga and English just as well. He was stationed in 2005 in Simango as a teacher after doing his schooling in Livingstone, home of the wonder of the world, Victoria Falls. “Mosi-o-Tunya” in his native tongue: “The Smoke that Thunders.”

I was born in Minnesota, the “Land of 10,000 Lakes.”

Kebby and I were born to support each other in the work prepared beforehand for us to do. I’m bringing (with all of your help) the resources necessary to support Kebby and the Simango community in the work ahead. And Kebby and the Simango Church are bringing what they have to offer to accomplish the work.

I’ve updated the Simango Village Photos page. I think it speaks for itself.

Leave a Reply

